2014 In Review: The Year Of Things Happening

misc

What’s funny is that I’ve been repeatedly making jokes about not doing a review like this, but after being specifically asked to do a review of my professional year, I figured: why the hell not. Let’s be nostalgic. My personal life in 2014 was very tumultuous with the bereavement of two family members within a very short period of time, and in general the year itself was extremely up-and-down with a mix of amazing opportunities and incredibly difficult challenges. However, I’m looking forward to 2015 to be a great year – also with a lot of expected change – and I’m excited to see what it brings.

  • I wrote for IndieStatik for the majority of the year, mostly covering interesting developments in the #screenshotsaturday hashtag and indie visual novels in separate weekly columns.
  • I was listed as an Honourable Mention in Develop’s 30 Under 30 in the games industry, which was a huge honour.
  • I started to stream my game art asset work on Twitch regularly, which has become a ritual for me (especially since the introduction of the Game Development category) – and I hit over 500+ followers.
  • I organised and ran a conference from scratch called RhineDev in Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany. It focused on interesting/unique topics within three tracks (design, technical and advocacy) and for a first time conference AND a conference during which the entire German railway went on strike, it went incredibly well. Wide variety of topics, 120+ attendees. We’ll be doing this again.
  • I attended Casual Connect Amsterdam with the Hammer Labs team, which in itself was an amazing experience. I then wrote a scathing article about the associated industry parties afterwards which generated some interesting discussion (using baby tigers, etc).
  • Through the generosity of an amazing friend, I was able to attend GDC San Francisco and make a huge amount of connections with others, as well as learn a huge deal. This was one of the best experiences of my life, actually! Apart from being punched by a person who really wanted a hot dog.
  • I gave talks/was on panels at:
    • The Sheffield International Documentary Festival – ‘Do Games Tell It Better?’ w/ Leigh Alexander, Ste Curran, Ed Stern & Darren Garrett
    • AMAZE Berlin 2014 – German Indie Arena Microtalks & the Gaming Press Panel (w/ Cara Ellison, Chris Priestman, Dennis Kogel & Anjin Anhut)
    • RhineDev 2014 – ‘The Real Evil Within: the struggle with portrayal of mental health in games’
    • Free to Play Antwerp – ‘Local and Remote Play: building community up close and from a distance’
    • Cologne Game Lab (lecture) – ‘Indie Gaming Press and You’
    • Respawn 2014 – ‘That Jam We‘re In – a discussion on potentials and limits of Game Jams’ – w/ Anna Kipnis, Martin Nerurkar, Alexander Zacherl & Michael Indyk,
  • I attended GDC Europe and Gamescom, which was both tiring and amazing.
  • I participated in a loooot of game jams:
  • I ran a loooot of game jams:
  • Actually, running Asylum Jam again this year (its second year) meant a lot to me and I’m glad that a lot of the participants both enjoyed themselves, and got a lot of exposure from the media playing their games afterwards. As my stepsister took her own life in September, just weeks before the jam started, raising awareness for negative stereotypes/harmful stereotypes of mental health because a lot more intimately important for me.
  • I released probably the world’s first mermaid bra simulator game, Bras and Balls. While the game isn’t the world’s most fun game for a number of reasons, it was an interesting exercise in a.) finishing a project and b.) creating a game about an issue that was intimately female, but still enjoyable by other genders.
  • Started Group Pug, my indie studio.
  • I kinda helped out with the Screenshake IndieGoGo! Yay!
  • I started a Patreon halfway through the year, which has enabled me to keep organising stuff and plodding along as it covers my health insurance (the biggest bill that I have, and consequently where all my money goes).
  • Started Women in Games NZ with two great colleagues, Mike Porter (Media Design School) and Tara Brannigan (PikPok). Already neat things are happening there!
  • I made the Indie Whipping Bot, which people either love or hate for his unconditional dislike for lack of productivity. Should probably update that.
  • Started a Youtube channel called ‘The Velvet Throne‘, to fill the hole I have in my soul for highlighting small, neat indie games the way they deserve. Need to figure out how to make video editing take less time.
  • I met a load of amazing people, new friends, new colleagues, travelled a bunch, plotted heaps, and wow. I’m excited to face the new year with all of you by my side. Thank you, as always, for all your support and encouragement.

– Lucy

2 thoughts on “2014 In Review: The Year Of Things Happening

    1. I could whinge about the year being difficult, but ultimately challenges make you who you are. Thank you so much for all your support this year, I’m really lucky to have met you too and even just reading your username always makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

